Skincare Review: Creme de La Mer

Creme de La Mer
Creme de La Mer

Product Description from Neiman Marcus:

The Accident
Over forty years ago, aerospace physicist Dr. Max Huber suffered a terrible accident when a routine experiment exploded in his face, resulting in severe chemical burns. Neither science nor medicine could offer sufficient promise of help, so Huber decided to help himself. Twelve years and some 6,000 experiments later—Crème de la Mer was born.

The Miracle
There are those who insist Crème de la Mer has produced astonishing results. Some might even call it miraculous. In a short time, skin becomes softer, firmer, looks virtually creaseless. Even the driest of complexions are healed.

The Formula
At the heart of Crème de la Mer is a nutrient-rich, highly potent Miracle Broth™. There is nothing unusual about its ingredients—a blend of sea kelp, vitamins and minerals. It’s the way Huber distilled them that made the difference between a good moisturizer and a small miracle, borrowing from the ancient science of fermentation. This intensive, 3 to 4 month process released vital energies, transforming the ingredients into a whole far greater than the sum of its parts.

The Secret
Crème de la Mer’s Miracle Broth™ is suspended within its extraordinary formula. To activate the broth and release its key ingredients, warm a small amount between your fingertips. As you pat onto clean, dry skin, you will instantly feel the soothing effects of the broth. Smooth over your face, neck, even under the fragile eye area. Apply day and night—for a lifetime.

My Review:

This is going to be a really long review because my experience with this product begin about 10 years ago…yes that long!

My Skin: Extremely sensitive skin. My skin either turns all red is painful to touch and burns or stings, or breaks out in tiny white or huge red pimples all over the face if I use something unsuitable. Combination skin – dry cheeks and oily t-zone.

Price: £90 (30ml)

The Accident
My mom was cooking dinner for me. She had bent over the pot to check the state of cooking and was unaware of the hot steam rising out of the pot. I watched in horror as the skin around her throat just melted away and rolled down her neck, exposing raw flesh!

The Miracle
I rushed to apply the creme de la mer with a cotton bud, just dabbing thick swabs of it on the exposed flesh. Till today, there is no resemblance of any scar or uneven skin colour at all on my mom’s neck.

The Formula

A thick creamy white cream. Do note that for my jar of La mer kept in cold weather, the texture of the cream is very thick and solid. However, for my mom’s jar of La Mer kept in hot humid weather, the texture is not solid at all. It feels very creamy and more spreadable. In case you are wondering if its because of differences in formulae (bought in different countries etc), I brought the same jar I was using and noticed when travelling between cold and hot weather countries, the same jar had different textures.

Please be aware that if the cream is exposed to really hot weather, it will liquify. I have seen that happened to one jar before. Therefore, I would advise not to store it in places where its hot and strongly recommend you purchase the smallest jar so the cream is always fresh and if it changes to liquid, it wouldn’t be such a waste if you choose to dump the jar. A sales assistant I spoke to recommend that the jar shouldn’t be exposed to extreme temperatures. She advised depotting a small amount into another jar if travelling between cold and hot weather countries to preserve the cream.

The Secret

One really needs to warm up the cream between their palms before application. You actually use less of the cream and one only needs a tiny amount. Best to start off with a small amount, liquify it between the palms and pat onto skin. Then warm up some more cream for more application. I only use this at nightswhen the weather heats up. When its winter, i use it twice a day.

Please note that this cream did not work for me or my mom 10 years ago. Perhaps it was because our skin were too young or because we didn’t need that extra boost of moisture, but we both broke out horribly in red pimples (yes! even for my mom!)

The Result

One truly wakes up to softer, smoother, glowy, dewy skin. My sensitive reactive skin seems to have settled with continuous use of this. The cream seems to help calm irritated red skin that’s painful to touch or is burns or stings. According to the sales assistant, continued use of this cream will balance out the skin and turn one’s skin type into normal skin.

Verdict

This is a must buy and a staple for me. In fact, there’s always a jar lying around the house in case of any incidents. I am not too sure if this cream would work for everyone since I have heard of incidents where it has caused breakouts. I would recommend trying this if you have seriously dried out skin or stay in places where the winter is cold and harsh. I spoke to a couple of air stewardess who always fly long haul flights and this creme is also their staple moisturiser.

Hope this helps!

~nutty

Perhaps you might be interested in reading my other reviews:

Skincare Review: La Mer The Hydrating Infusion

16 thoughts on “Skincare Review: Creme de La Mer

  1. Hey Nutty

    I love CDLM too, I’ve reviewed it on my blog as well, it’s a must repurchase for me. I still have a little bit left and it’s Winter in Australia right now so perfect timing for it now, I’m not sure if it would work well in Summer for me though as I do get oily around my T zone area. Did your mum feel very oily since she’s been using it in a hot weather?

  2. Happy New Year to you!!!

    Awww, I hope they will open one there in the future. We have Sephora all over the US, and I just recently discovered that they opened one in Singapore too!

    K.I.T and I look forward to reading more of your reviews!

    XoXo,

    Happy217

  3. Dear Nutty,

    Sorry for being MIA. I’m currently on vacation in Asia. =)
    I’m using Murad’s SPF 15 cream and it seems to work just fine. It doesn’t leave a greasy feeling or have a funny smell.

    I would suggest getting a sample to try from Sephora first! Another good one is the studio fix spf 15 lotion from MAC, however it leaves a funny smell.

    Happy Holidays!

    -happy217

    1. Hi Happy!

      Not a problem for being MIA!!

      Sephora is not available in the UK…so that means no samples…what a sad life i have! But thanks for the recs, will try and get my hands on the murad.

      thanks for dropping by!

      Happy New Year!
      ~nutty

  4. Dear Nutty,

    On my tea comment, I usually drink Japanese green teas only. On occasion during dinners, I’ll have some jasmine or chrysanthenum tea.
    I like to purchase my teas from: http://www.lupiciausa.com/

    They have lots of varieties and flavored teas too! This company is from Japan, however they have retail locations in California.

    I only drink 1 cup per day, but it’s more of a treat for me, since I don’t eat sweets.

    Happy Holidays to you!

    – happy217

    1. Dear Happy,

      I was told green tea helps in digestion and one can actually lose weight if one drinks green tea consistently for a long period…I might have to start drinking them.

      Thanks for the link!
      ~nutty

  5. Dear Nutty,

    I’m using the eye concentrate cream and like CDLM, it’s very rich. I’ve seen several companies come out with the silver ball applicator, but I’m not sure if it does what it claims.

    With Chanel skincare, I tried several items such as the exceptional moisturizer with spf (now is the beaute initiale line), purifying cleansing gel, hydramax moisture cream, and hydramax serum.

    I’m a huge fan of Chanel shadows, mascara, and eye pencils, so I decided to give their skin care line a try too! All of the products above worked just fine, however the beaute initale line is not worth it at all!
    I would say it is the equivalent of the products you can find in any drugstore, like Loreal or Oil of Olay.

    The hydramax stuff is soothing and has a nice scent to it, but Chanel only recommends using it as a supplement every once in awhile to boost moisture.

    By the end of the day, if you’re shelling out for daytime moisturizer, cleanser, night time moisturizer, and moisture boost, it just comes out to be more expensive than CDLM.

    Here is my suggestion for a one stop beauty regime for skin care:

    Daily Moisturizer:
    – Use smaller amount of CDLM and layer with SPF (or)
    – MAC studio fix cream w/SPF (when I’m wearing makeup)

    Cleanser:
    – Shu Uemura cleansing oil

    Night time:
    – CDLM

    – happy217

    1. Dear Happy

      Thanks so much for replying!

      Would you mind letting me know which sunscreen are you using?? I have yet to find a suitable one for my sensitive skin.
      I used to use Chanel skincare until my skin had a bad reaction to it.

      Happy Holidays!
      ~nutty

  6. Oh, and one more thing. I drink lots of tea and water only, never any coke or sugary beverages. I think that definitely helps keep the skin look fresh too!

    – happy217

    1. Hi Happy

      Yes…i totally agree that its important to drink water. Am not too sure about tea though. I always though tea contains caffine which isnt good for woman so i tend to limit myself to one cup per day. When you say tea are you talking about chinese (any particular kind?)/japanese green tea/herbal tea or western tea with milk??

      Once again thanks for dropping by!

      Happy Holidays!
      ~nutty

  7. Awww…thank you! I love your blog!!! The La Mer lip balm is definitely on the pricey side, however it works well and doesn’t leave my lips gooey or dried out like other ones. A lot of my girlfriends swear by the lip balm by Fresh (w/spf), but that one totally leaves my lips dry. To me, it ranks up there with Chapstick!!!!

    I’m a huge fan of La Mer’s eye concentrate. You only need to apply a small amount, just like the CLDM. Tip: Next time you’re refilling on your CLDM, ask the beauty rep for a sample of the eye concentrate. Then, you can give it a try. It should last you about a month, if you use it sparingly.

    At a young age, I was always interested in trying out beauty products. I started out with the cheap drugstore brands and eventually graduated to makeup counters at Nordstroms and Neiman Marcus. =)

    I did find that CLDM was a bit rich, so I only use it at night and when I traveled. It wasn’t enough to make me break out, but it just didn’t pair well with makeup! So, during the daytime, I used Shu Uemura’s spf foam along with their moisturizer serum. I think they actually discontinued the one I liked, so I eventually jumped over to Chanel.

    Long story short, it was curiosity that brought me to finally splurge for CLDM. And, ever since, it’s been my secret weapon to keep my skin looking fresh and smooth.

    I have never had a real problem with my skin, but as I got older, the richness of the creme really helped keep my face moisturized. I can honestly say that my skin is just as nice as when I was 20. The only difference is that I now know how to apply make up much better!!!

    I still recommend it to all my friends, but it is a little pricey for some.

    Happy Holidays!

    1. Hi happy

      Thank you so much for loving my blog! Please keep visiting and feel free to email me any improvements or suggestions!

      I see you are a loyal follower of La mer too!! Stay tune for my other la mer reviews.

      For the eye concentrate…do you actually use the silver ball applicator at all?? Am wondering if its a gimmick thing.

      What products are you using from Chanel now?? It sounds like your skin is in really good condition!

      Once again thanks for visiting and posting!

      Happy Holidays too!
      ~nutty

  8. La Mer creme is absolutely the best! I use to travel a lot, so I would always slather on La Mer creme & eye creme before each flight.

    I’ve actually been using this product for 10 yrs now and I love it. My skin is baby smooth with no fine wrinkles and I’m close to 30. It maybe b/c of genetics, but I’ve tried a ton of other moisturizers, and they don’t seem to keep my skin fresh and dewy like La Mer.

    I also tried several other products from La Mer, but only the creme, eye cream, and lip balm work well.

    1. Hi happy (love your username!)

      OMG!!! I thought I was the only crazy one who love their lip balm (considering the crazy price for a lip balm!!)!! Which eye cream are you talking about?? The eye concentrate or eye balm??
      For CLDM, you have been using it for 10 years?? Did you have problems when your skin was younger (as in break outs cos the cream was too heavy) ?? Has your skin changed much with the use of CLDM after so long??

      Thanks for visiting and posting!

      Have a great weekend!
      ~nutty

  9. Hi Fuzkittie

    Thanks once again for visiting and commenting!!

    Yes…CDLM is the bomb!! Will be posting reviews on the other La Mer items I use…stay tuned!

    You are welcomed! I might pick up that quad too…cos its much cheaper than the Chantecaille Bengali Palette

    Have a great day!
    ~nutty

  10. Hey Nutty~

    CDLM is my ultimate Holy Grail. It’s like a safety blanket for me!! :] Glad you love it too~ Great review!

    Thanks for the link to the Cosme makeup news~ I’m going to save my money and buy the Spring collection instead of the winter ones! The colors are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

