Best of 2008

It is almost the end of the year and by this time, every newspaper , TV program or magazine will have an article or program on the either the best of something for that year or a run-down on the memorable / unforgettable events of the year. There have been several unforgettable events for 2008 but in keeping with the theme of this blog (i.e beauty related), this post will be about the best beauty/skincare items I have found this year.

Presenting my best of 2008…

#1 – Diorshow Iconic Mascara (Review)

Best for: Actually making my wimpy non existent lashes stay curled and defined!

#2 – Chanel Les Tissages de Chanel Blush Duo Tweed Effect (review)

Best for: Being chick babe men magnet!!

#3 -La Mer Hydrating Infusion (review)

Best for: Solving my dehydrated flaking skin problem!

#4 – La Mer Lip Balm (review)

Best for: Giving me soft kissable lips!

#5 – Too Faced Borderline Anti-feathering Lip Pencil in Clear (review)

Best for: Keeping my lipstick and lipgloss where they should be, lasting longer than they should be and at an affordable price!

#6 – Becca Beach Tint (review)

Best for: Its numerous multi-purpose uses!

#7 – Norwegian Formula Foot Cream for damaged and cracked skin (intensive repair)

Best for: Repairing my horrible cracked heels and at an affordable price!!

#8 – Kanebo Mascara 38°C Silk Performance (review)

Best for: No longer giving me panda eyes and having the easiest removal method – just warm water and its gone!

#9 – YSL Rouge Volupte Lipstick (review)

Best for: Creamy texture and intense pigment.

#10 – The Sanctuary Spa Hot Sugar Scrub (review)

Best for:  Non abrasive scrub that gives off a slight heat – good for deep cleansing and warming up muscles! All at affordable prices!

Please do share your best finds of 2008 as well! I will be posting the individual reviews of the products  in the future, so please stay tune for them!

Happy reading!

~nutty

5 thoughts on “Best of 2008

  1. Ooo I love your list!! Happy new year Nutty!! I hope your 2009 will be filled with lots of joy and NEW TOYS! Haha. ❤

  2. Dear Nutty,

    I’m glad you enjoyed my mini list. Wow, essie is pricey in UK. OPI in the US can range from 6 to 10USD. It just depends on where you go to purchase it.

    On the topic of Dior vs. Chanel eyeshadows, I’d had to say that I still prefer Chanel. The pigments are rich and very easy to blend. I know many “models” like to use MAC eye makeup, however I think the colors are too bold and dry. It definitely works well for photo shoots, but not for a simple everyday or classy evening look.

    I have over 10 Chanel quad palettes at home, but I only have 2 favorites. One is the SPICES palette (warm neutral colors) and the other one is the limited edition DENIM palette (dark blues, smoky eye). The nice thing about the quads is that you can pull off a daytime and evening look with just one palette.

    I recently tried the Dior eye shadows and I would say only the darker shades turn out nice. I’m currently using the 5 Couleurs #970 “Stylish Moves”. Its a palette of purples, which can work beautifully day or night.

    Soooo, I’d say go with Chanel!

    -happy217

  3. Dear Nutty,

    Here’s a list of some of my favs. It seems like this year many of my girlfriends are tight on $$, so I compiled this list for them before the holidays. Enjoy!

    Under $10.00
    – L’Occitane 100% pure shea butter (L’Occitane Boutiques or Sephora)
    – Opi nail polish (Beauty Supply Stores)
    – Essie nail polish (Beauty Supply Stores)
    – Bigalows Mentha lip shine (Bath and Body Works)
    – Duo Waterproof eye lash glue (Beauty Supply Stores)

    Under $20.00
    – Shu Uemura lashes (Sephora)
    – Shu Uemura eye lash curler (Sephora)
    – Tweezerman mini slant tweezers (Sephora or Beauty Supply Store)
    – Mac lipstick (MAC Boutique or Nordstroms)
    – Viva La Juicy mini perfume roller (Juicy Couture Boutiques)

    Under $30.00
    – Chanel Exceptionnele Intense volume mascara (Nordstroms or Macys)
    – Shu Uemura beauty cleansing oil (Shu Uemura Boutique)
    – Mac Mineralize skin finish powder (MAC Boutique or Nordstroms)
    – Dior waterproof eyeliner (Sephora)
    – Dior single eye shadow (Sephora; if you can splurge, get the 5 color eye shadow compact for a “complete” look)

    1. Hi Happy

      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a very comprehensive list of your favourites!!

      I love how you catergorise them according to prices…but Essie in UK isnt cheap…its roughly USD13 per bottle!!

      Am very very interested in trying out Dior eyeshadows. Have you tried chanel eyeshadows?? Any chance of a comparison between those 2??

      xox
      ~nutty

Leave a Reply

