Chanel Byzance de Chanel Review – Regard Signe de Chanel Topkapi

CHANEL says “Beloved by Mademoiselle Chanel, the opulence of Byzantine art served as muse for this quartet of creamy powder eyeshadows. Copper, taupe, gold and bronze, touched with shimmer and light, create mesmerizing effects.”

Read on for my thoughts on the eyeshadow quad Regard Signe de Chanel Quadra Eyeshadow in Topkapi.

And now we come to the pièce de résistance…

Photobucket

Regard Signe de Chanel Quadra Eyeshadow in Topkapi: Comes encased in a black velvet pouch and packaged in the usual black square compact with black plastic sleeve and black sponge applicators. The eyeshadows are round in the pan with a quilted designed and the double ‘C’s are imprinted on the eyeshadow.

This costs more than the regular eyeshadow quads. SGD 95 (approximately USD 77 / GBP 48) vs SGD 87 (regular quads).

I once complained to a Chanel sales assistant why the Euro/Asia quads come packaged with the white sponge applicators that are destroyed with the first use. I personally find the black sponge applicators are much more durable and are able to withstand washing. The Chanel sales assistant enlighten me that Chanel provides the different sponge applicators depending on the texture of the eyeshadow. I never quite believe that statement since I believe the USA quads always had the black sponge applicators (please do correct me if I am wrong). However, I think the Chanel sales assistant might have a point. The black sponge applicators seem to grab on to these eyeshadows very well especially the shades with more shimmers.

The shades and texture of the Regard Signe de Chanel are driving me nuts…in a good way. The four shades are:

  1. matte chocolate brown (in pan); bronze with a slight orange tone, satin finish (swatched); chocolate brown shade with a satin finish (on eyes);
  2. metallic silver (in pan); very shimmery light taupe (swatched); shimmery taupe (on eyes);
  3. bright gold eyeshadow (in pan); gold eyeshadow with gold glitter (swatched); glittery gold [quite prominent gold] shadow (on eyes); &
  4. matte dark chocolate [almost black] (in pan); dark chocolate with very, very subtle shimmer (swatched); dark chocolate (on eyes)

See why I am going nuts?? The only way I can account for the differences between the pan, swatches and the eye is because the shimmers/glitters in the eyeshadow are creating a different shade when the light flashes on the swatches.

I have been using the chocolate brown (in my crease) and taupe (in my lid) shades the past couple of days.The combination created a smoky look for my fair skin. I normally look like someone punched my eyes when I wear brown/warm shades. But this palette seems to work on my cool tone skin…probably because of the taupe shade. The look probably works because I use the Joues Contraste Powder Blush in Rouge which adds a bit of colour to the look. However, I do have to be careful with the gold shade. It is quite difficult to use as a highlighter on the brow bone, it is way to yellow on my skin. I find the best way to use the gold is to dab it on the lid, over the other shades. This seems to increase the sparkle to the eyes.

Verdict: Regard Signe de Chanel Quadra Eyeshadow in Topkapi is highly recommended if looking for a brown version of smoky eyes.

See my reviews on the Joues Contraste in Rouge and Or. Return to  Chanel Byzance de Chanel Collection  for the links on the rest of the collection.

Swatches for Topkapi coming up… are here and here.

Hope this helps!
~nutty

4 thoughts on “Chanel Byzance de Chanel Review – Regard Signe de Chanel Topkapi

  1. Thanks for the review 🙂 I was wondering how much more expensive is this quad? And are the prices of the blushes and RA in this collection hiked up aswell?

    1. Hi Alisha,

      No problems about the review…

      The quads were SGD95 (the price of a compact foundation), SGD8 more than the regular price. The rest of the collection remained at the same price.

      Hope this helps in your planning!
      ~nutty

      1. Yes its helped alot – thanks 🙂 I want to make sure I have enough because I know its going to sell out like crazy!

Leave a Reply

