An Elusive Dream: That Black Glossy Chic and Classy Compact 

YEARS ago, as a kid, I watched with fascination as a pretty girl whipped out a glossy black compact and proceed to touch up her makeup in a crowded train…intrigued I peered a little closer and saw a separate compartment for a sponge placed next to a rectangular shaped powder which had the letters ‘ZA’ embossed on them. When she closed her compact, with a discernible click, inter-linked white ‘C’s greeted me. At that moment, I decided… someday when I grew up, I was going to own one of those glossy, chic and classy black compacts…

Years later when I discovered the wonderful world of makeup, I learnt that the black glossy, chic and classy compact with the inter-linked ‘C’s could only mean…

Photobucket

With age came more discoveries…

  1. Chanel’s pressed powders are embossed with double interlocking ‘C’s encircled by a circle or the words ‘CHANEL’;
  2. Chanel’s pressed powder compacts are square-shaped; and
  3. Chanel’s pressed powder compacts do not come in refills.

If one is looking for refillable compact with a separate compartment for a sponge, Chanel’s compact powder foundations are the way to go. Thus, I embarked on a very expensive…make that extremely expensive…journey, seeking to fulfil my elusive dream. Please do join me on my search for my elusive dream…

Mat Lumière Luminous Matte Powder Makeup SPF 10
Teint Innocence Naturally Luminous Compact Makeup SPF10
Mat Lumière Extrême Powder Makeup SPF 20/PA+++
Vitalumière Éclat Radiance Comfort Compact Makeup
Le Blanc Light Mastering Whitening Compact Makeup SPF 25/PA+++

Links will be updated when reviews are published. I hope you enjoy reading about my search for my elusive dream!
~nutty

CHANEL image from chanel.com

5 thoughts on “An Elusive Dream: That Black Glossy Chic and Classy Compact 

Leave a Reply

